top of page
Search
  • johnandjordiweaver

The Ugly box of Intentional Questions



I'd thought I'd share a gift idea for a loved one, you know, because Valentine's day is just around the corner.

We all want to be known by the ones we love! Valentine’s Day can be a good “New Year” type holiday to freshen up those relationship goals! If you know John and you know me, then you know we are pretty darn different. I’m “bubbly,” John is intense. My default face is smiling, John’s is...intense. John likes old country music and I like the new stuff--which he considers “rap.” John is really nice all the time, I am really nice not all of the time. You get the picture. Getting along, isn’t always easy for us. One of our most repeated “fights” is because I get mad because he looks mad. “Are you seriously mad at me because I look mad?” “Yes!” “What can I do to make you believe I am happy?!” “Just SMILE!!!” “I am smiling!”


So one Valentines Day, in our fourth year of marriage, I cut up about 60 pieces of paper, and wrote intentional questions on them. I put the questions in a beautiful box (just kidding, it’s an ugly box which is why there is a picture of us, rather than a picture of said box). And I gave it to John as a gift. I wanted to know him more. Here are a few at random: What songs make you think of me? In the last week, have I made you feel good more than I have made you feel bad? Explain. Do you feel respected by your in-laws? Is there something you are afraid to tell me? A subject that I make you nervous to broach? What do you admire about me? What do you wish I did/said more often? There are a few rules to this “game:”

1. You CANNOT be in a bad mood when playing—things could get ugly fast 2. After reading the question, you have to think for a full minute before answering 3. Each person gets to answer each question that is drawn Anyways, this ugly box of intentional questions has blessed us many times in the last year. I want to know my man, to learn him, so that I can prove to be his biggest fan. I love to hear what is on that beautiful heart of my handsome man--because let’s be real, I still can’t read his face. We all want to be known and understood. The better I know John, the better I can meet his needs. I’m the only woman he has! I’m the one he chose! So one of my goals in life is to make his life more fun, more enjoyable, and more fulfilling.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page